DebDalzielFoundationThe Deb Dalziel Woman Entrepreneur Achievement Award is awarded annually to women who have significantly improved or changed their own personal situation, thus having an impact on others around them. The award was established in 1999 by America’s SBDC Iowa to help highlight the accomplishments of women entrepreneurs in Iowa. The purpose of the Deb Dalziel award is not only to honor Dalziel, a long-time advocate of women entrepreneurs, but also to ensure that the groundwork is in place to assure women equal advantages in the business world.

As director of America’s SBDC Iowa at Southeastern Community College from 1987 to 1999, Deb Dalziel served as a mentor for women developing business projects. According to Ron Manning, former state director of the Iowa SBDC, Deb was a resourceful consultant and advisor who served as an excellent example for her clients of how women can achieve success in the business world. Dalziel died of cancer at the age of 44.

List of Award Winners

2021 — Yulia Dannen, D&S Services, Mason City

2020 — Sue Tyrrell, Hands Up Communications, Cedar Rapids

2019 — Sara Winkleman, S & B Farmstead Distillery, Bancroft

2018 — Doreen Roy, Wholesome Basket, Burlington
2017 — Alisa Roth, Bloom Works Floral, Council Bluffs

2016 — Sarah Novacek, Legacy Logistics Freight, Mason City

2014 — Shelly Zimmerman, SMC Ins Inc., Dumont

2013 — Heidi Bell, From The Ground, Leon
2012 — Christina Moffatt, Crème Cupcake + Dessert, Des Moines
2011 — Wendy Wright, Get Funky Gifts & Stuff, Sioux City
2010 — Kristen Stephens Sharma, Inspired!, Inc., North Liberty
2009 — Sarah Gall, The Runner’s Flat, Cedar Falls
2008 — Sally Nichols, Burlington in Bloom, Burlington
2007 — Anna Bradley, Criterion 508 Solutions, Inc., Johnston
2006 — Jane Shekleton, JaneyLynn’s Design, New Hampton
2005 — Penny Brown Huber, Funding Solutions, Ames
2004 — Nancy Moeller, CustomCraft Trailer Outfitters and Inn The Hunt, Kanawha
2003 — Deanna Cloud, Marvel Media, Inc., Sioux City
2002 — Mary Connell, Air Control Inc./ACI Fabricators, Clinton
2001 — Vaness Oden, Vaness Oden Communication Services, Exline
2000 — Pat Galasso, Ge-Angelo’s Inc., Clear Lake
1999 — Martha Wolf and Susan Saunders, Ivy Bake Shoppe & Café, Fort Madison and Burlington